2019 Award Winners

Young Investigator Awards

Implementing a Geriatric Fracture Program in a Pluralistic Environment
Carol Lin, MD, MA

Mean Ten-Year Survivorship, Patient-Reported Outcomes and Satisfaction of a Fixed-Bearing Unicompartmental Knee Arthroplasty
Ryland Kagan, MD

Females and Long Spinal Fusions Result in Total Hip Arthroplasty
Zachary C. Lum, DO

Resident Awards

Lloyd Taylor Award
Osteogenic and Chondrogenic Differentiation Defects in Geriatric Human Skeletal Stem Cells from Acute Fractures

Lawrence H. Goodnough, MD

Vernon Thompson Award
MRI Improves Diagnosis of Ipsilateral Femoral Neck and Shaft Fractures
Nathan Rogers, MD

Harold and Nancy Willingham Award
Hip Survival following Arthroscopy: Analysis of 12,733 Patients
Jie Yao, MD

Sanford and Darlene Anzel Award
Prospective Validation of the Sepsis MetaScore as a Novel Blood Test for Acute Septic Arthritis
Blake Schultz, MD

WOF Resident Awards

Hypovitaminosis D is a Risk Factor for Posterior Chain Muscular Injury in NCAA Division I Track and Field Athletes
Adam Lindsay, MD

Altered Cortical Activity during Single Leg Balance in ACL-Reconstructed Patients
Benjamin C. Meyer, MD

Improving Trainee Arthroscopic Knot Tying Skills Using the FAST Workstation
Peters T. Otlans, MD

WOF Donor Awards

Omer A. Ilahi, MD Donor Award
Supporting Orthopedic Resident Education and Advancement in Leadership Skills
Sachin Allahabadi, MD

Basil R. Besh, MD Donor Award
High Resiliency Improves Patient-Reported Outcomes following Knee Surgery in Active-Duty Patients
Nicholas J. Drayer, MD

David H. Chafey III, MD Donor Award
Infraspinatus Tenotomy Improves Glenoid Visualization with the Modified Judet Approach
John Garlich, MD

Jeffrey M. Nakano, MD Donor Award
Current Trends: Surgical Treatment of Syndesmotic Injuries in Elite Athletes
Rebecca Griffith, MD

Clifford B. Jones, MD Donor Award
How Mobile Technology Changes Reporting of Morbidity and Mortality
Christopher R. Johnson, MD

Nitin N. Bhatia, MD Donor Award
Two-Week Postoperative Radiographs after Ankle ORIF Have Low Utility
Hyunwoo P. Kang, MD

Brian A. Jewett, MD Donor Award
Overprescribing of Opioids in Orthopaedic Surgery
Taylor D. Mansfield, MD

Robert R. Slater Jr., MD Donor Award
Improved Fracture Reduction in Patients Undergoing Early Definitive Fixation for Tibial Plateau Fractures with Acute Compartment Syndrome
Tony Pedri, MD

Jeffrey E. Krygier, MD Donor Award
Newer NCAA Bat Standard is Associated with Hamate Fractures
Trevor J. Shelton, MD

Poster Awards

First Place
Thirty-Day Outcomes After Surgery for Primary Sarcomas of the Extremities
Kathryn E. Gallaway, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Second Place
Comparison of Complication Profiles for Femoral Neck, Intertrochanteric, and Subtrochanteric Geriatric Hip Fractures
Armin Arshi, MD, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Third Place
Radiographic Anatomy of the Proxima Ulna to Avoid Intraarticular Implants
Thomas Githens, DO
* Presented by Malcolm DeBaun, MD, Stanford University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Most Outstanding Participation Award

Stanford University
University of California, Davis