2017 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

Lloyd Taylor
John D. Johnson, DO
14 Year Follow-Up of Arthroscopic versus Open Anterior Shoulder Stabilization

Vernon Thompson
Stephen D. Zoller, MD
Longitudinal Murine Model of Allograft Infection: Evidence for Paradigm Shift?

Harold and Nancy Willingham
Vishal V. Hegde, MD
Vitamin D is a Modifiable Risk Factor for Periprosthetic Joint Infection

Sanford and Darlene Anzel
Howard Y. Park, MD
Vancomycin Powder in Spine Surgery: Does It Work and Does Dose Matter? An In-Vivo Mouse Model Experiment

WOF Resident Awards:
Jason H. Ghodasra, MD, MSCI
Radiographic Risk Factors for Loss of Fixation Following Volar Plate Fixation of Intra-Articular Distal Radius Fractures
Jonathan D. Hughes, MD
Comparison of Short-Term Biodex Results after Anatomic ACL Reconstruction between Three Autografts

Jessica Bryant, MD
Clinical Presentation and Intra-Articular Injury in Patients with Posterior Shoulder Instability

Poster Award Winners

The WOF Poster Awards are an important aspect of WOA’s Scientific Program.  A First and Second and Third Place Award Winner will be identified.  The awards include cash prizes of $700, $500 and $300.

First Place
Poster 26 - Jonathan Cheah, MD
Effects of Chronic Opioid Use on Perioperative Shoulder Arthroplasty Outcomes
Second Place
Poster 34 - Chima D. Nwankwo, MD
A Comparison of Outpatient Versus Inpatient Shoulder Arthroplasty – A Single Hospital Experience

Third Place
Poster 2 - Brandon K. Vu, BS
In Vitro Inhibition of Fibroadipogenic Progenitor Cells in a Murine Model of Rotator Cuff Tears

Most Outstanding Participation Award

Baylor Scott & White