2012 Award Winners

Young Investigator Awards:
Ivan Cheng, MD, Stanford University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Functional Assessment of Acute Local versus Distal Transplantation of Human Neural Stem Cells Following Spinal Cord Injury

Kenneth Hunt, MD, Stanford University Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Surgical Treatment of Insertional Achilles Tendinopathy With or Without Flexor Hallucis Longus Tendon Transfer

Brian Feeley, MD, San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center/University of California at San Francisco
Evaluation of Akt/mTOR Activity in Muscle Atrophy and Fatty Infiltration After Rotator Cuff Tears in a Rat Mode

Lloyd Taylor Award
Tom Chao, MD, University of California, Irvine
Blockade of Matrix Metalloproteinase-3 After Traumatic Nerve Injury Offers a Novel Treatment for Improving Functional Recovery

Vernon Thompson Award
Daniel G. Kang, MD, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, Bethesda, MD
The Effect of Pedicle Screw Hubbing on Pullout Strength in the Thoracic Spine

Harold and Nancy Willingham Award
Kevin D. Martin, DO, William Beaumont Army Medical Center
Arthroscopic Basic Task Performance in Shoulder Simulator Model Correlates With Clinical Shoulder Arthroscopy Experience

Sanford and Darlene Anzel Award
Joel C. Williams, MD, University of California Davis
A Biomechanical Comparison of Plate Fixation and Calcium Phosphate Cement for Distal Femoral Metaphyseal Defects

WOA/OREF Resident Awards
Jared A. Niska, MD, University of California Davis
Daptomycin and Tigecycline Have a Broader Effective Dose Range than Vancomycinas Prophylaxis Against a Surgical Implant Staphylococcus Aureus Infection

Rosanna Wustrack, MD, University of California at San Francisco
Change in Physical Activity One Year After Lumbar Decompression With or Without Fusion - Is It Correlated to Self-Reported Outcome Scores?

Adam Bevevino, MD, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Incidence and Morbidity of Concomitant Spine Fractures in Combat Related Amputees

Poster Awards

The WOF Poster Awards are an important aspect of WOA’s Scientific Program. A First and Second and Third Place Award Winner will be identified. The awards include cash prizes of $700, $500 and $300.

First Place
Julius A. Bishop, MD
Open Reduction and Intramedullary Nail Fixation of Closed Tibia Fractures

Second Place
Bryon D. Hobby, MD
Prevention of Post-Operative Osteopenia Using IV Pamidronate: A Pilot Study

Third Place
P. Douglas Kiester, MD
Tether Location in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis by 3-D CT Analysis