2014 Award Winners

Young Investigator Award
Julius A. Bishop, MD
Conventional Versus Virtual Radiographs of the Injured Pelvis and Acetabulum

Reza Firoozabadi, MD, MA
Risk of Spermatic Cord Injury During Anterior Pelvic Ring and Acetabular Surgery: An Anatomical Study

Ran Schwarzkopf, MD, MSc
Patients’ Willingness to Contribute to Cost of Novel Implants in Total Joint Arthroplasty

Lloyd Taylor Award
Megan Kuba, MD
One Brace, One Visit: Treatment of Distal Radius Buckle Fractures in Children with a Removable Wrist Brace and No
Follow-Up Visit

Vernon Thompson Award
Jared Niska, MD
Controlled Release of Vancomycin and Tigecycline from an Orthopaedic Implant Coating Prevents Staphylococcus
Aureus Infection in an Open Fracture Animal Model

Harold and Nancy Willingham Award
Duy Phan, MD
Do Patients with Income-Based Insurance Have Access to Total Joint Arthroplasty?

Sanford and Darlene Anzel Award
Joseph W. Galvin, DO
Infection Rate of Intramedullary Nailing Following Temporizing External Fixation in Closed Fractures of the Femoral

WOA/OREF Resident Awards
Seth H. Criner, DO
Immediate Weight Bearing as Tolerated After Locked Plating of Fragility Fractures of the Femur

Michael Githens, MD
Local Versus Distal Transplantation of Human Neural Stem Cells Following Chronic Spinal Cord Injury

Natalie L. Leong, MD
In Vivo Evaluation of Electrospun Polymer Grafts for ACL Tissue Engineering

Poster Awards Winners

The WOF Poster Awards are an important aspect of WOA’s Scientific Program.  A First and Second and Third Place Award Winner will be identified.  The awards include cash prizes of $700, $500 and $300.

First Place
Megan Kuba, MD

Second Place
Cory A. Collinge, MD

Third Place
Alan L. Zhang, MD